Discography Concerts The Band Buy Stuff  
Spock's Beard on iTunes
Spock's Beard Merch

Spock's Beard
music & merch

Email list
Sign up to be notifed of upcoming shows, CD's, special offers, etc.
Spock's Beard

Alan Morse
Dave Meros
Ryo Okumoto
Ted Leonard
Facebook fan page
Jimmy Keegan
John Boegehold
Facebook / Twitter
Stan Ausmus
Facebook / Cyrano
Sonya Kukcinovich
SB Merchandise
The Bearded
Offizieller Deutscher Fanclub
insideout logo
© Spock's Beard

dot September 14, 2015

Spock’s Beard – ‘The First 20 Years’ collection announced!

From InsideOut Music:

Legendary Californian progressive-rockers Spock’s Beard are set to release ‘The First Twenty Years’ collection on the 20th November 2015. Arriving as a special 2CD & DVD package, it includes a selection of the best tracks from their entire career, as well as a brand new 19-minute long track titled ‘Falling For Forever’ that features every member of Spock’s Beard past and present performing, including Neal Morse (who also wrote the track), Nick D’Virgilio & current vocalist Ted Leonard. All the tracks have also been re-mastered by long-term collaborator Rich Mouser, and the DVD portion of the release will feature old, live and archival footage from the band’s impressive 20+ year career.

Dave Meros talked about the album: "We’ve discussed the idea of a “Best Of” release on-and-off for several years, and it’s finally come together. Of course, there were some tricky issues to work through. Deciding which songs would best represent the band over 20+ years, 12 albums and three different lineups was challenging enough, but add the fact that a lot of our songs clock in anywhere from 8 to 20 minutes or more and the selection process became that much more daunting to make everything fit. Finally, after a lot of back-and-forth between everyone involved, we’ve come up with a song list which we think represents each album and era of the band quite well.

That left us with another concern though. We were adamant about not wanting to just release a bunch of our earlier material in a new package, especially to loyal fans who probably own most, if not all of our albums already. With that in mind, Neal came up with the new epic “Falling For Forever” which clocks in at almost 20 minutes and was written specifically to include all current and past members of the band.  Luckily, everyone’s schedule lined up to be able to record it and even better, Rich Mouser was available to record and mix it as well as remaster all of the earlier songs.  Add to that a DVD with a lot of previously unseen video footage from the early days of the band and we think we have a package our fans will really get into."

‘The First Twenty Years’ showcases just how important Spock’s Beard have been to progressive rock since their formation in 1992, and how consistently brilliant they remain to this day.

The Oblivion Particle

Disc 1

1. The Light
2. Thoughts
3. The Doorway
4. June
5. Day For Night
6. At The End Of The Day
7. Solitary Soul
8. Wind At My Back

Disc 2

1. The Bottom Line
2. She Is Everything
3. On A Perfect Day
4. Jaws Of Heaven
5. Waiting For Me
6. Tides Of Time
7. Falling For Forever


dot August 11, 2015
Here's the new lyric video for "Bennett Built a Time Machine" from The Oblivion Particle.
dot July 26, 2015
Check out the new lyric video for "Minion" from the upcoming album The Oblivion Particle
dot July 10, 2015
The Oblivion Particle, available in both CD and vinyl is now available for pre-order!!! Click Here
dot June 15, 2015

The Oblivion Particle

The Oblivion Particle

Spock's Beard's 12th studio album set for release August 21, 2015 on InsideOut Music.

01. Tides of Time (7:45)
02. Minion (6:53)
03. Hell's Not Enough (6:23)
04. Bennett Built a Time Machine (6:52)
05. Get Out While You Can (4:55)
06. A Better Way To Fly (8:57)
07. The Center Line (7:05)
08. To Be Free Again (10:24)
09. Disappear (6:36)

10. Iron Man (special edition bonus track)

From the InsideOut Music press release:

2015 finds Spock’s Beard returning with The Oblivion Particle, scheduled for release August 21st on InsideOut Music. The band’s twelfth studio album sees them drawing from their core essence while stretching out into some exciting new territory. 

According to bassist Dave Meros,  it’s not a matter of how much the album recalls past Spock’s material, but how much it differs. “I think the opening track 'Tides of Time' is classic Spock's in terms of arrangement and style, but everything else is fairly different.  That said, the whole album is still within the parameters of what people expect to hear from us.” 

Among the nine new songs are “To Be Free Again,” a dramatic, cinematic epic; “Bennett Built a Time Machine,” a quirky adventure tale about time travel;  “Hell’s Not Enough” with its fiery emotive plateaus and “Get Out While You Can,” a more straight ahead yet no less impactful powerhouse. 

The Oblivion Particle finds the band answering the needs of their creations by utilizing the considerable versatility of each member.  In addition to Ted Leonard's soaring vocals and Dave Meros' distinctive bass,  Alan Morse adds autoharp, banjolele, electric sitar and mandolin to his array of instruments, drummer Jimmy Keegan takes over lead vocals on “Bennett Built a Time Machine” and Ryo expands his arsenal of keyboard sounds throughout the album.  In addition, virtuoso Kansas violinist David Ragsdale lends his touch to the album’s majestic closer, “Disappear.”

As with the previous album Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep, The Oblivion Particle was recorded at The Mouse House and produced by Rich Mouser, Alan Morse and John Boegehold, a band collaborator of many years.

Ultimately, The Oblivion Particle has all the trademarks of a classic “grower,” with a  considerable depth that continues to unfold after many listens. This proves Spock’s Beard to be an amazingly compelling band some 20+ years after their formation, and one that continues to be a leader in the prog rock field, just as they have always been…


dot May 30, 2015
Tickets available now at CalProg.com
dot April 28, 2015
Spock's Beard will be on tour in Europe in September and October to promote their upcoming album "The Oblivion Particle" which will be released in August. More info about that coming soon!

16.09 – Spirit of 66, Verviers, Belgium

17.09 – De Boerderij, Zoetermeer, Netherlands

18.09 – Framus & Warwick Music Hall, Markneukirchen, Germany

19.09 – Progresja, Warschau, Poland

20.09 – Metro Club, Brno, Czech Republic

21.09 – A-38, Budapest, Hungary

23.09 – Legend, Milan, Italy

24.09 – Kantine, Augsburg, Germany

25.09 – Sudhaus, Tübingen, Germany

26.09 – Alte Seilerei, Mannheim, Germany

27.09 – Essigfabrik, Köln, Germany

29.09 – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham, UK

30.09 – Assembly, Leamington Spa, UK

1.10 – The Classic Grand, Glasgow, UK

2.10 – O2 Academy Islington, London, UK

3.10 – Club Academy, Manchester, UK

dot March 19, 2015
Cruise To The Edge


November 15-19 - Cruise to The Edge

Info and Tickets
earlier updates:
News Archive 2011- 2015